WHS Jazz Ensemble

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Student musicians from two Jefferson County Schools earned the state's top honor this year. Jazz Ensembles at Harpers Ferry Middle School and Washington High School were selected as 2023 West Virginia State Honor Jazz Bands.

The students will travel to Charleston to perform at the WV Music Educators Association Conference on Thursday, March 2, 2023. Director of Bands at Washington High School Lisa Hazlett said they have had to work fast to prepare.
"I've spoken to some of our wonderful band directors in Jefferson County Schools who have earned this honor in the past, and they have shared some best practices for logistics with me," Hazlett said.
Hazlett said this is the first state accolade for the WHS Instrumental Music Department, and it speaks to the dedication of the students.
"This is an amazing accomplishment for our talented jazz musicians," she said.
Band Director at Harpers Ferry Middle School Charles Wall agreed and said it is a huge honor for the students who work hard to balance a demanding schedule.
"Our students are very excited to represent West Virginia at the WV State Music Educators Convention. They spend so much time practicing throughout the year, and excel in academics as well as music."
This is the fourth time Harpers Ferry Middle School has been selected as a WV Honor Jazz Band. The honor concert is at the Charleston Coliseum and Convention Center in the Little Theater at 8 pm. 

WHS 2023 Jazz Ensemble

HFMS 2023 Jazz Ensemble

Eric Brady

Aiden Bauer

Lydia Brown

Caeley Trujillo

Amelia Dardaris

Liam Hall

Becky McGivern

Payton Schneble

Jacob Perkowski

Alexa Stone

Nathan Trimmer

Wren Rice

Josh Molina

Keating Amos

Harper Broomall

Sean Wagner

Seth Vorhauer

Alex Bartlett

Eashan Hatti

Georgia Hennigan

Ben Caltrider

Ryan Martinez

Jacob Perkowski

Even Meley

Becky McGivern

McKenna Kells

Patrick Hazlett

Aurora Jackson

Gavin Frazier

Kaylie Toth

Rhett Snyder

Hollyn Rossi

Nick Sakole

Naia Prevatil

Jonathan Hartzell

Clara Adams

Mason Bennett

Illa Sapatsko

William Carr

Makenna Stovall

Madison LaVigne

Thad Jackson

Emilio Perez-Diggs

Harrison Garrett

Lauren Rossi

August Thompson

Maddox Showen

Zane Lambert

Lucas Vega Leon

Anna Lassen